FFWD – My Go-to Beef Daube (and a Happy New Year)

As I’m typing this, the beef daube is braising in the oven and I’m preparing peppermint patties and vegan truffles for a potluck we’re going to tonight. We’re ringing in the new year by meditating with my partner’s Buddhist sangha, D.I.Y. Dharma.

For me, it’s been a year of change, commitment and renewed creativity. It’s also been a year of profound losses.

My intentions for 2011 include solidifying my life’s path, while really seeing and valuing the people in my life. I hope 2011 brings you a full share of joy with your life’s challenges.

I’ll leave you with a few photos of the Beef Daube, since this is French Friday, after all. I’ll let you know how we liked it in the comments, tomorrow.

Happy New Year!



We’re doing things a little differently again for the month of December. We’re still posting weekly, but people are free to post this month’s recipes in any order. You can find many other blogged descriptions of this month’s FFWD recipes here: LYL: December 31

14 thoughts on “FFWD – My Go-to Beef Daube (and a Happy New Year)

  1. Thanks, Candy and Steph! Happy New Year to you both.

    The daube was tender, the vegetables are perfect and the broth is extremely rich. I have some potatoes on the stove right now – I’m going to mash them so that they will catch all of the lovely sauce. I guess it was a safe bet that this recipe would be a winner. I’ll definitely be making it again.

  2. Glad the beef daube came out well. I loved the sweetness in the broth from the root vegetables. Hopefully you have some leftover because the leftovers are really good! Wishing you a very Happy New Year!

  3. Thanks, Betsy – the leftovers are as wonderful as everyone’s been reporting. Happy New Year to you, too!

  4. Yes its a winner! I can’t believe how much better it was the next day too. I wanted to make more of this one before I even finished off the first. Happy New Year to you!
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

  5. Happy New Year, Trevor and Flourchild! I’m already planning on making this for again for a family dinner. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.